New Zealand school term dates and holidays for state and state-integrated primary, intermediate, secondary and composite schools for 2018 and 2019.

2018 school terms and holidays

 START DATEEND DATE HOLIDAYS    

Term 1    

Between Monday 29 January

(at the earliest);

and Wednesday 7 February
(at the latest)

Friday 13 April

Saturday 14 April - Sunday 29 April

(includes ANZAC day 25 April).

Term 2 

Monday 30 April

Friday 6 July

Saturday 7 July – Sunday 22 July

Term 3 

Monday 23 July

Friday 28 September

Saturday 29 September – Sunday 14 October

Term 4  

Monday 15 October

Primary, intermediate and special schools:

No later than Thursday 20 December

Secondary and composite:

No later than Tuesday 18 December

5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date

until opening date of school the following year)




2019 school terms and holidays

 START DATEEND DATE HOLIDAYS    

Term 1   

Between Monday 28 January

(at the earliest); 

and Thursday 7 February
(at the latest)

Friday 12 April

Saturday 13 April - Sunday 28 April

(includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and ANZAC day).

Term 2 

Monday 29 April

Friday 5 July

Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Term 3

Monday 22 July

Friday 27 September 

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Term 4 

Monday 14 October

Primary, intermediate and special schools: 

No later than Friday 20 December 

Secondary and composite: 

No later than Friday 13 December 

5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening

date of school the following year)